1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

OM-D E-M5 Quick(er) Erase?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dyobmit, Sep 26, 2012.

1. dyobmit

dyobmit New to Mu-43

Aug 16, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hello!

Is it possible to erase an image directly after taking it on an OM-D E-M5? That is, rather than pressing the playback button to review my images and choose which to delete, I'd like to just delete a shot right after it's taken and displayed on the screen. Pressing the trash button while the image is being displayed doesn't delete the image.

I remember there being a kind of trick to accomplish this on my E-PL1, and I got that working, but can't remember what that is, and don't see anything anywhere similar in the menus on my new OM-D E-M5.

Apologies if this is obvious. I'm new to Olympus and m4/3, and really enjoying the gear and the images I'm getting, but after digging around various places I've given up and turn to the fine experts here for a verdict.

Thanks!

2. Mikefellh

Mikefellh Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 7, 2012
    Toronto, Canada
    No. You need to see what you're deleting!

3. arch stanton

arch stanton Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 25, 2012
    London
    Malc
    You can remove a click from deletes (on my e-pl3, assuming it's the same on most Oly cams). There's a menu setting buried down the bottom of the gears that changes the default answer from "no" to "yes". Takes a little tedium out of the process :)

4. arch stanton

arch stanton Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 25, 2012
    London
    Malc
    Had a dig in the manual - you still need to hit play whatever.

Gears menu H:
    Quick erase: one click delete (too easy to press accidentally for me!)
    Priority set -> Yes: still keeps some confirmation requirement but shorter process.

5. dyobmit

dyobmit New to Mu-43

Aug 16, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thanks for the responses. Looks like I'm stuck with entering playback mode to delete.

6. (G)