1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

OM-D E-M5 owners...good news...I may have found the best eyecup yet...

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by LowriderS10, Feb 27, 2014.

1. LowriderS10

LowriderS10 Monkey with a camera.

May 19, 2013
    Canada
    So, I'm sure all of us are sick of the junk EP-10 viewfinder eyecup that comes with the E-M5. I've lost...I don't know...3 so far? And the current one is garbage, the rubber is separating from the frame, waiting for that to fall off any day.

But, the other day I started thinking...if the E-M10 has the same EVF as the E-M5, then its viewfinder eyecup - Olympus part number EP-14 - should fit as well, right? Turns out it does.

Not only does it fit, after a week of heavy use, it has made no attempts to escape (EDIT: I've been using it for exactly 8 months now without any issues). As an added bonus, it's slightly deeper than the EP-10 eyecup that comes with the E-M5, more effectively blocking out unwanted light.

Here's what it looks like on an E-M5:

You can see it's curved/deeper than the original:

and

I'm hoping it'll be the solution to our eyecup woes! :D

• Like Like x 19
  2. Jay86

Jay86 Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 26, 2012
    Nice! Thanks for sharing that :D

• Like Like x 1
  3. dogs100

dogs100 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 12, 2011
    N Devon UK
    Geoff
    I'm on No.4 ... so this is good news for me ... Thanks!!

4. Fmrvette

Fmrvette This Space For Rent

May 26, 2012
    Detroit, Michigan
    Jim
    I don't see 'em listed on the Olympus USA site yet; the E-M5 and E-M1 are listed but not the E-M10 yet.

:frown:

I guess I could buy an E-M10 and keep the eyecup and pitch the rest of it...probably not cost effective, tho.

Lowrider, thanks for posting. When the parts pop up on the Olympus site I might give it a try.

Regards,

Jim

• Like Like x 1
  5. GeBathan

GeBathan Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 11, 2012
    Los Angeles CA
    Gerard
  6. Fmrvette