1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OM-D Battery saving tips?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by illdefined, May 31, 2012.

1. illdefined

illdefined New to Mu-43

May 31, 2012
    Coming from a DSLR, I'm new to having to worry about battery life, especially with the scarcity of OM-D batteries right now.

What are the best ways to conserve battery on the OM-D? I know of the obvious ones, S-AF over C-AF, IBIS off, Eye-sensor off, Eye-fi off etc. but are there any other, less obvious, energy suckers you've encountered?

- what takes more juice, the EVF or the OLED? I assume the OLED but I thought I heard OLED takes less energy than LCD so I don't know what to think.

- what Picture Mode takes the least processing? I've noticed that putting it on Picture Mode 1, i-Enhance, prevents the High FPS EVF option, so it must be taking some processing resources. which ones would take the least?

- what are the best power/sleep settings for street shooting (ie. at the ready, but not ON)? The Eye-Sensor is a complete liability as it's super sensitive and can't distinguish between an eye and my body when not in use. Would the extended Eye Cup make a difference?

Appreciate any help from anybody familiar with Olys and m4/3rds in general.

2. Jman

Jman Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 20, 2011
    Columbus, OH
    I haven't had a problem with battery life so far. I've never actually had it run out of juice in a day, and I shoot a fair bit. I'm not saying it's going to go 1,000 shots of single shot shooting, but in practice I don't think you need to do much of anything special.