OM-D (Auto ISO)

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by csnoel, May 22, 2012.

1. csnoel

csnoel Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 21, 2012
    I am fairly new to photography and understanding all of the different settings. Is it normal, when using a flash, that (Auto ISO) would fluctuate from 200-1600? Depending on the distance the camera will compensate with higher ISO's. I understand the reason for this but many times if the subject is closer I might see anything from 200-800. When I change it from auto to say 250 everything looks better than what was taken when auto was 800. I guess my question is why wouldn't auto ISO calculate an ISO of 250 in these situations where a flash is being used?

As I am starting to become more familiar with the settings I am moving further away from any Auto settings. This might just help me better understand what is going on.

Thanks

2. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    I don't know if this is the reason, but: even if you have the flash enabled there's no guarantee the flash will produce a predictable amount of light into the scene. Unlike a point and shoot with a fixed flash, the OM-D could be using the flash head-on, with a difusser, bounced off the wall/ceiling, etc.

3. jyc860923

jyc860923 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China
    贾一川
    I don't know exactly about Oly gear but Panasonic sometimes fails me on higher auto ISO too, both metering and movement of the target could be the reason, there's a mode when Panasonic pushes the ISO up when detecting target's fast moving.

4. Panut

Panut Mu-43 Regular

Dec 25, 2011
    Finland