Olympus XA in B&W

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by ptolemyx, Jul 23, 2013.

1. ptolemyx

ptolemyx Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 19, 2012
    Vancouver, BC
    Ben
    Got this little camera in EX++ condition from a craigslist ad last week. I've never used one before--it's a hell of a lot of fun to shoot with, and I haven't picked up my EM5 since! (I'm sure that's just a phase.)

These were shot with Ilford XP2 Super, and processed direct to digital at London Drugs.

2. cpt000

cpt000 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 11, 2012
    The XA is proof that you don't need large lenses for full frame

3. Lawrence A.

Lawrence A. Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 14, 2012
    New Mexico
    Larry
    Yeah Yoshihisa Maitani squeezed a 6 element lens into that tiny body, using a retro-focal design. It's a fun and very good little camera, a real rangefinder, with a real lens, and just a blast to use. The fall-off in the corners isn't a big deal; you can use it to effect, or you can dodge it to even things out. I've got two in case one breaks.

4. simonz

simonz Mu-43 Regular

Jul 20, 2010
    New England
    Great pics. I love the XA and b&w film look. No matter how hard I try, I can't get the same effects from digital. I should dust off my Oly XA's, if only I could find a place that would develop (I sold my dark room gear a few years ago).

5. entropicremnants

entropicremnants Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 16, 2012
    John Griggs
    They are amazing. I sold my only working one, but I have a "display model" in my camera case. Quite a cool little cam. The size is mind boggling the first time you pick it up.

6. Pecos

Pecos Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 20, 2013
    The Natural State
    I used one for years, backpacking in the Wind River Range. Got some great shots with that little gem.

7. Chrisnmn

Chrisnmn Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 26, 2012
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Chris