1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Olympus Viewer 2 vs Lightroom 4

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by robknight, Jan 18, 2013.

1. robknight

robknight Mu-43 Regular

Oct 15, 2011
    Atlanta, GA
    I am an Adobe Certified Expert in LR4 and I regularly teach LR4 classes, so I figured LR4 would be AT LEAST as good as Olympus Viewer2 when processing raw files from the OM-D E-M5... the results of my comparisons have really surprised me.
    I did a couple of videos recently to show the difference between the two conversions and then to demonstrate how to set up batch processing in Olympus Viewer 2. The Oly software is too painfully slow to use for any serious editing,but it does a great job with raw processing.
    Comparison video...
    Olympus Viewer 2 vs Adobe Lightroom 4 | Rob Knight Photography
    And the batch processing tutorial...
    Olympus Viewer 2 Batch Processing Workflow | Rob Knight Photography

Cheers!

• Like Like x 10
  2. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob
    Interesting, I need to play with this a bit. :cool:

3. macalterego

macalterego Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 10, 2012
    Lawrence, KS
    Jeffrey McPheeters
    I wonder if you would give us your opinion of the Photo Ninja raw processor for OM-D raw files. I've just started using it, having tested it last fall. In re-processing several images compared with Lightroom 4 and Aperture 3, I find the Photo Ninja processor is preferable, particularly with very difficult images that had a wide dynamic range. In particular, reprocessing bracketed sets for later HDR work has yielded very visible improvements in my testing thus far. But I'd value and expert's opinion.

4. robknight

robknight Mu-43 Regular

Oct 15, 2011
    Atlanta, GA
    I haven't tried that, but I will download it and check it out.

I've had a similar experience to what you describe with Olympus Viewer 2 compared to LR4

5. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team