Olympus Trade Up Event - E-M1X for $2,500

Jeffcs

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
1,367
Location
Toms River NJ
I took advantage of the $500 discount I said I wouldn’t at the $3K price but than the discount pushed me over the edge I went for it in anticipation of the Olympus super zoom as I think it will balance better on a bigger body and still 1/3 weight and all said and done still going to be much less cash than Nikon FF lens of that zoom range
 

ac12

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
1,836
Location
SF Bay Area, California, USA
Nice! B&H quoted my EM10m1 for $145, I think I'll do it. I want that EM1m2 so bad to compliment my EM5m2. LOL
I just typed in the coupon code and got the trade-up discount.
$145 is better than the $30 offer for my old dSLR. So I did not bother with the trade-in.

I don't know how the EM5 and EM10 compare, but I LIKE my EM10 for casual family parties, especially with the 14-42EZ. Nice and compact.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2017
Messages
64
Location
Poway, California
Does anyone know if it’s possible to get a coupon without something to trade? I guess I could always buy a super cheap lens on EBay to use as a trade-in. Out of curiosity I contacted Adorama for a quote on an E-m1 mk 2 and it was ridiculous at less than $600.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
1,185
Does anyone know if it’s possible to get a coupon without something to trade? I guess I could always buy a super cheap lens on EBay to use as a trade-in. Out of curiosity I contacted Adorama for a quote on an E-m1 mk 2 and it was ridiculous at less than $600.
My understanding is that you request a quote for a trade-in and get a coupon code. You can choose not to trade-in but still use the coupon code to get a discount. It is such a roundabout way of discounting their products. Why not call it a sale and temporarily lower the price?? Because that would be way too easy.
 
Last edited:

ac12

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
1,836
Location
SF Bay Area, California, USA
Except you're still running two systems, & worse, a variety of mounts. APS-C, FF, & mirrorless.
Not as bad.
As long as the F lenses are AF-S or AF-P they work on the Z6 via the FTZ adapter.
Only in reverse, the Z lens can't work on the D500.

Between my Nikon and Olympus, nothing work in either direction.
Well Nikon lenses will work on an Olympus body, but I loose ALL lens automation. So it is even worse than using my 1970s manual lenses on a Nikon body.
 

speedy

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
2,096
Not as bad.
As long as the F lenses are AF-S or AF-P they work on the Z6 via the FTZ adapter.
Only in reverse, the Z lens can't work on the D500.

Between my Nikon and Olympus, nothing work in either direction.
Well Nikon lenses will work on an Olympus body, but I loose ALL lens automation. So it is even worse than using my 1970s manual lenses on a Nikon body.
If it works for you, all good. I tried it myself over about 5? or so years, & it drove me up the wall. EF-S, EF-M, & EF. Adapters, compromised focal lengths for different formats, one way compatibility etc etc. Which is the main reason why I ended up with m4/3. One camera, one system. From ultrawide, to telephoto. All in a single mount. Everything just works. Yeah, there are still compromises, it just depends which compromises you're happy to live with.
 

ac12

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
1,836
Location
SF Bay Area, California, USA
If it works for you, all good. I tried it myself over about 5? or so years, & it drove me up the wall. EF-S, EF-M, & EF. Adapters, compromised focal lengths for different formats, one way compatibility etc etc. Which is the main reason why I ended up with m4/3. One camera, one system. From ultrawide, to telephoto. All in a single mount. Everything just works. Yeah, there are still compromises, it just depends which compromises you're happy to live with.
Ah that is the problem.
Yes, without optics, you can't put a lens with a short registration distance (mirrorless) on a camera with a long registration mount (dSLR). That one is a one-way-street, dSLR -> mirrorless.
 

ijm5012

Mu-43 Legend
Joined
Oct 2, 2013
Messages
7,960
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Real Name
Ian
Except you're still running two systems, & worse, a variety of mounts. APS-C, FF, & mirrorless.
Except it's not nearly as bad as you're making it out to be.

The only lenses I have between the two systems that "overlap" are the 16-80 f/2.8-4 for F-mount, and the 24-70 f/4 for Z mount. When I'm going to the races, I bring the 16-80 with me because my primary camera at the track is the D500. When I'm traveling, I bring the 24-70 with me because my primary camera is the Z6.

I only have two Z-mount lenses that can't be used on the D500: The 24-70 (which I already have covered with the 16-80), and the 14-30 f/4 (which I don't have a duplicate of because I only use my Z6 when shooting UWA). The only other Z-mount lens I would plan on getting would be a 70-200 f/4, in which case I would sell my 70-300 that I'm currently using as my travel telephoto lens (and I already have an F-mount 70-200 f/2.8 that I use at the track on my D500, but it's unnecessarily large and heavy for general travel photography).

So, while you're technically correct that I still have two lens mounts, the reality of it is that I can share 7 out of the 9 lenses I own between the two mounts. That certainly wasn't the case when I had a D500 and an E-M1 II, where I was able to share 0 lenses between the two mounts.
 

speedy

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
2,096
I'm glad to know you care so much about me that you'll check back in 5 years. :flypig::drinks::flypig:
Ha ha ha. Your ego betrays you. It's more like a train wreck, or car crash. You don't really want to, but can't help stealing a glance :) Out of fascination mostly I think
 
Last edited:

Chasmodai

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Oct 21, 2013
Messages
33
If you take human portraits, you do. If you take bird portraits, then you need 300mm F4 also.:biggrin:
Seriously? You're asking a question like this on mu-43.com? :biggrin: Of course you do!
When I got paid to take pictures I used the Canon 80 1.2 quite a bit for people, and the 300 2.8L for reenactments and air shows. Now that it's a hobby I really should keep a more careful eye on spending ;)
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
249
Location
China or the U.S. - one of the two
I want to thank folks for posting this. I just got a quote of $315 for my EM5 MKII from B&H. I find that acceptable and will purchase another OMD EM1 MKII. I did verify with Olympus that you are NOT required to trade in any gear. Here is their response:

The reason that the coupon is provided upfront is that we would like you to participate in the program without feeling obligated to send in your older equipment if you are not happy with the quote. We would rather not disappoint someone who has evaluated their photographic needs and want a newer model than "punish" them for not having something to trade up from. We also find customers who take advantage of the coupon and send in equipment or not.


Sincerely,


Nichole

Customer Care & Support
Olympus America Inc.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom