Olympus Recommendation

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by BMarkwardt, Aug 26, 2014.

1. BMarkwardt

BMarkwardt New to Mu-43

Aug 25, 2014
    I am a newbie here, so be gentle!

I am a long time owner of the GF-1 with the viewfinder, kit lens and the 20mm 1.7. I am looking to buy another camera and lens, this time an Olympus. I have pretty much decided on the 12-40mm Pro zoom. I just got back from vacation where I took only the 20mm and while it was great carrying around just one lens, I felt a bit limited. The GF-1's low resolution viewfinder continually left me disappointed and I missed having a zoom. From everything I have read, the 12-40mm will pretty much satisfy all of my short term needs.

So that brings up the question of the camera. I love the "rangefinder" form factor, so the E-P5 has been calling my name. But then I wonder if the E-M10 with the grip is a better (and less expensive) choice. I have seen the pictures of both cameras with the 12-40mm and maybe both are overwhelmed by the size of the lens?

I find myself using a viewfinder pretty much 100% of the time, so the quality of the viewfinder is important to me. I know the E-P5 viewfinder has the better quality, but is the E-M10's good enough?

Any other thoughts? Maybe I should bite the bullet and buy an E-M1?

Despite living on the outskirts of a major metropolitan area, there is no camera shop within an hour's drive. (Personally, I find this appalling!) So I am looking for some guidance from the forum. Thanks!
  2. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Remember that the viewfinder for the EP5 is an add on and sticks up significantly on the top, kind of taking away the "rangefinder" look of that camera.