1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Olympus OMG EM5 MKII Video Help

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by ISREALITY, Apr 28, 2015.

1. ISREALITY

ISREALITY New to Mu-43

Apr 28, 2015
    isreal rathburn
    I'm a part time college videographer and i've been working with a t3i for my entire career, i've heard so much good things about the em5 mk2 and i also needed better stills capability so i jumped the gun and invested in it. Now i'm slightly regretting my decision, and i might just sell this for a GH4, unless someone can help me.

First off, the lack of an exposure meter while in M mode in the film function, does anyone know a way to get a meter on the live view? it's there for everything else but M.

And color reproduction, while in film mode the color reproduction is odd, white balance is set up fine, but what's the best picture mode for film? grading the footage produced by this camera is so hard.

if you have any video experience with this camera please help.

2. T N Args

T N Args Agent Photocateur

Dec 3, 2013
    Adelaide, Australia
    call me Arg
    This guy has some experience with it. link And it looks like he answers questions, so maybe put yours to him on his blog post. He also explains how to change the exposure when in manual video mode. Some people (including camera reviewers) wrongly say it can't be done.

3. fuzzynormal

fuzzynormal Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 29, 2015
    I'm feeling my way through it too. It's obvious Olympus is struggling to make this camera work as a video shooter, but aside from a lot of shortcomings on the ergonomics, it's still a viable tool.

Manual focusing is a PITA. I'm still trying to figure out a viable solution for that.

Anyway, I've been shooting Natural and turning down the contrast, sharpness, and color to -2. And, to my eye, it looks like AUTO under the gradation setting balances the blacks and whites the best.