Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark III Image Thread

memzinla

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I can't believe I'm starting it. I'm actually impressed with the HHHR shots! I'm not good at all the technical comparisons. It's just two shots of a teddy bear. One with HHHR and without HHHR.

I notice a blue dot close to the left hand of the teddy bear by the wall. I wonder what that is?

P3051255 by Guillermo Moreno, on Flickr

P3051256 by Guillermo Moreno, on Flickr

L0n3Gr3yW0lf

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Real Name
Ovidiu
I am finally getting to review the images of the E-M1 Mark III (I am working in the caring system in the UK and the job is keeping busier than I would have preferred). The IQ out of the 20 MP sensor keeps blowing my socks off (compared to the 2nd generation 16 MP sensor) and even more impressive is the crazy good IQ I am getting from the HHHR images in both details, dynamic range, color rendition and noise. For me, the improvements feel like going from the 1st generation 12 MP sensor (of the mirrorless version) to the 1 and 2nd generation 16 MP sensor.

Though I am noticing an unexpected side effect of HHHR output and I need to test it to fully confirm it. At the moment it seems that at certain upper ISO range the HHHR files are compressing the shadow and highlight ends of the image into the mid-tone range and there is very little that can be recovered. I will try in the next couple of days to test HHHR throughout 1 spot ISO increments during daylight and nightlight to properly confirm this.

I will drop 2 screenshots of Before/After Lightroom edits on these HHR files, I know they are not proper IQ representation but I am swamped by work at the moment, sorry:
1585193651292.png
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)