Olympus MCON-P01 Converter Help

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Chuckrock, Dec 1, 2011.

1. Chuckrock

Chuckrock Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 19, 2011
    Hi I am a relative newbie to photography and would like to do some macro pics, I have an EPL1 with 14-42mm kit lens and the 40-150mm

I am looking for a relatively cheap solution for this and was looking at my options and narrowed it down to 2 converters for the 40-150mm

Olympus MCON-P01 & Raynox DCR-250

I dont really know too much about either and quality on that lens

Any help and examples would be greatly appreiciated

2. Sammyboy

Sammyboy m43 Pro

Oct 26, 2010
    Steeler Country
    I use various achromat close-up lenses, but the Marumi DHG Achromat Macro 200 (+5) diopters and the Marumi DHG Achromat Macro 330 (+3) diopters are among the best available and quit affordable. These are dual element lenses, and unlike the cheap single element diopter lenses, these are very sharp out to the corners. These two diopter lenses work exceptionally well with the mZuiko 40-150 & mZuiko 14-150 zooms.
    You can find them on e-bay and Amazon. Here's the link to their web-site.

Here's something from one of my previous posts you may find helpful.

For those who don't know how the diopter system for close-up lenses works, here is an example. Divide 1 meter by the diopter to give the distance from subject to front of lens when the lens is set to infinity.
    There are 25.4mm in 1 inch. You can also stack where a +2 and +3 = a +5.

+1 diopter = 1/1 = 1 meter from subject to front of lens......(39.37")
    +2 diopter = 1/2 = 500mm from subject to front of lens.......(19.69")
    +3 diopter = 1/3 = 333mm from subject to front of lens.......(13.11")
    +4 diopter = 1/4 = 250mm from subject to front of lens.......(9.84")
    +5 diopter = 1/5 = 200mm from subject to front of lens.......(7.87")
    Hope someone finds this useful.
    • Like Like x 4
  3. Art

Art Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 13, 2011
    San Francisco, CA