Olympus flash; Godox vs Metz vs Oly.... RC vs Transmitter

Dogbert62

Mu-43 Regular
Real Name
Patrick
All,

I am looking to find an all around flash system with a focus on macro.. i am totally overwhelmed and would like some guidance..

since I travel light and am a total noobie with flash, the Oly RC mode “seems” like a good place to start since it doesn’t require a transmitter. However, it is likely old school and less reliable... Godox seems to get a lot of love but doesn’t seem to have the RC capability. Metz seems to have RC mode and the ability to grow out of RC mode.. then there is the OEM options.. my investigations have turned up multiple stories and spawned multiple questions so...

if you were looking to add a flash to your kit for general photography with the intent to use it for off camera OM-D EM10.2 macro like Robin Wong... what would you recommend

option as I see them.... (remember.. I don’t know what I Am talking about)
1) Godox TT350o... I don’t think it has RC mode so I would have to suck it up and learn how to dial in the power or buy a transmitter.. it also seems to have other bells and whistles like HSS and first curtain stuff. I *think* having a fully automated setup would be advantageous so I would likely get a TX
2) Metz m400o... seems to have RC mode and wireless for growth. It also seems to have most bells and whistles..
3) Oly FL-700wr.. OEM is usually a plus if you can stomach the price.. however, it is the new kid on the block so it may have bells and whistles that would be worth the extra bucks..
4) Nissin? Didn’t seem to be a fit... but... I know next to nothing..

I would appreciate any advice..

Regards
Dogbert62

Holoholo55

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Walter
All,

I am looking to find an all around flash system with a focus on macro.. i am totally overwhelmed and would like some guidance..