1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Olympus EPL2 or EP3

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by pixl10, Sep 15, 2011.

1. pixl10

pixl10 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 31, 2011
    Phoenix AZ
    Hi
    I am trying to decide between these two bodies. The price on epl2 is fantastic but the ep3 just looks great, I want a smaller body (just sold the GH2 as it was too big and way too advanced and the jpegs looked dull). I am still learning to process RAW) I will mainly use it as a travel camera and for pics of my kids. I have the Panny 20mm and Oly 9-18, will probably add oly 45 when it comes out. I will shoot videos mainly kids for memories rather than anything serious. I really love the oly form factor. Just not sure if I should buy the EPl2 for now and wait for the next gen Oly with the better sensor or just get the EP3 now. I am willing to spend the money if the ep3 is a lot better than the Epl2. I am getting the feeling online that it does not seem worth the upgrade but what about for someone buying . first Oly camera? I am not an advanced user. Just learning. I bought the GH2 on a friend's recommendation (who is an advanced user) I did have a GF1 before which I foolishly sold for the GH2. still regretting.... I also looked at the GF2 in a store but it feels too small, and uncomfortable to hold with the kit zoom, even my GF1 was like that but not as bad as GF2. I don't like the G3's looks, and I might add an external mic for recording school preformances and G3 does not allow that. Tilt screen not essential to me.

2. Art

Art Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 13, 2011
    San Francisco, CA
    The video on new Oly series is much better compared to E-PL2. Not only it's full AVCHD but has much faster C-AF and stereo sound. Consider E-PM1 as well at $499.

3. DDBazooka

DDBazooka Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 3, 2011
    Since you can afford the difference in price, go with the EP3.