Olympus E-PM2 and Low Light/Night Photography

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dbzkid777, Jul 26, 2014.

1. dbzkid777

dbzkid777 Mu-43 Regular

Jul 26, 2014
    Hi everyone,

My current setup is as follows:
    1. Olympus E-PM2
    2. 12-40mm f/2.8
    3. 45mm f/1.8
    4. 40-150 f/4.0-5.6

I am having real difficulties taking photos in dim/low light. I am a noob and I always use AutoFocus.
    However, AutoFocus is absolutely terrible in low light conditions (in my opinion).
    I feel like I've wasted money on the 12-40mm f/2.8 because I have a supposedly amazing lens but I don't know how to use custom settings ugh!

Everytime I take photos, the photos are very dark and the longer exposures suck because I have shaky hands; I even have the image stabilizer on.
    Do I keep aperture constant and adjust ISO and Shutter Speed? I heard my ISO should either be 400 or 1600 in low lights, is this true? What shutter speeds are recommended?
    Can someone help me with how to take photos in low light/night PLEASE?
  2. MarkRyan

MarkRyan Instagram: @MRSallee

May 3, 2013
    (1) You'll need steady hands. The 12-40 is pretty decent in low light, but your 45mm will be much, much better. Don't even try shooting the 40-150 in low light without a tripod.

(2) Go into A-mode (aperture priority). Rotate the circle dial on the back of the camera until the aperture is wide open (will read "1.8" if you have the 45mm attached).

(3) Set the ISO. I usually leave mine on auto, and have the auto-max set to 1600, but for really dark scenes (or when using the 12-40), bump it up to 3200 or maybe even 6400.

Buried in the settings somewhere, you can adjust the max ISO that "auto" will go to. In a scenario where I need more than 1600, I usually do not change this buried setting -- I just set the ISO manually to 3200 instead of relying on "auto" to bump it up for me. 6400 will show more noise for sure, but if it's a difference between grainy and blurry, I'll take grainy any day.