1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Olympus E-P5 digital teleconverter; how does it work.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by bikerhiker, Jul 16, 2014.

1. bikerhiker

bikerhiker Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 24, 2013
    Canada
    David
    I'm starting to use the digital teleconverter on my E-P5; mainly with my 35-100 f/2.8 so it gives me a 70-200 f/2.8 equivalent I think at 2x and I set it up so I can access it with a press of a function button. I like it the flexibility of it when shooting sports, because I can quickly switch between 1x and 2x. How does this work in regards to image quality and what level of pixels am I looking at quantity wise? 16MP or less?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

2. zensu

zensu An Old Fool

Aug 8, 2012
    Southeastern USA
    Bobby
    I'm no expert but from what I've read here and on other forums the digital teleconverter on the E-P5 takes the very center 4mp of the sensor and using mathematical formulas and interpolates that up to 16mp. From most of what I've read this is a much better image than simply cropping the center in post processing. I'm pleased with the way my E-P5 interpolates looks compared to what post processing cropping does.

• Like Like x 2
  3. bikerhiker

bikerhiker Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 24, 2013
    Canada
    David
    Thanks Zensu for the quick explanation. I'm also pleased with the way my E-P5 interpolates as well.

4. davidzvi

davidzvi Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 12, 2012
    Outside Boston MA
    David
    Well I for one can tell you it seems to work better than any "Digital zoom" I've ever used in the past.

Not bad for an E-P5, 14mm Pan with the digital converter / f2.5 / 1/25 / ISO 3200 - JPeg right out of the camera.

i-cLh6HZt-L.

• Like Like x 4
  5. Replytoken

Replytoken Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 7, 2012
    Puget Sound
    Ken
    Doesn't this mode turn the center 4MP that Bobby mentioned above from a 1x1 to 4x4 pixel arrays?

--Ken

6. Klorenzo