Olympus E-P3 (Pan Leica 25mm) vs Leica X1: my thoughts with comparison photos

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by sohcsleeper, Mar 13, 2012.

1. sohcsleeper

sohcsleeper Mu-43 Regular

Jan 4, 2012
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    * I am not a professional photographer, the following is just my opinion and is completely subjective. The following photos were taken handheld or placed on a rail. None of the images have been modified. They are OOC Jpeg, Raw, and Raw 1:1 crop. I did not compensate for focal length (50mm vs 36mm)

Objective: 1. compare image quality 2. compare OOC Jpeg (vivid) modes
    3. testing of 25mm f/1.4 Leica DG Summilux H-X025

Equipment: Olympus E-P3, VF-2, Large Grip, Pan Leica 25mm f/1.4 H-X025, B+W 49mm KAESEMANN CIRC-POL MRC (66-045612), 46mm-49mm step-up ring, Leica X1 (Leica Elmarit f/2.8 24mm ASPH Lens), generic thumbs up grip.

Method: Standing from same position, shoot the same photograph with each camera. Some hand held, some resting on rail. I will mention above each photo. I did not have my adapter ring for the Leica so I hand held filter in front of the lens while shooting.

Olympus on A-mode handheld, S-AF (MF), IS1, Raw + Jpeg vivid, Sharpness/Contrast/Saturation zero, Gradation norm, Noise Reduction off, Noise filter off, WB auto keep warm color, shade comp off, anti shake 1/8 sec.
    Leica A-mode, MF (infinity focus), Raw + Jpeg vivid, sharpness (medium high)/ saturation (standard)/ contrast (standard), WB auto