Olympus E-M10 IV or Panasonic G85

Deneb

Mu-43 Rookie
Hello everyone,

This is my first time buying an interchangeable lens camera. I think I have narrowed down my selection to either the Olympus OMD EM10 IV or the Panasonic Lumix G85 but I need help with the final decision.

My goals: I just want nice family photos for an upcoming trip to Yellowstone. Landscape, wildlife, portrait, selfies, etc. I'm not planning to make any prints, probably, and I'll mostly just view them on my desktop screen.

What I like about the OMD EM10 IV and the G85: They have enough manual dials for an amateur like me to experiment and have fun. Both cameras have IBIS. I have never owned an image-stabilized camera and I'm eager to try it. In the past I've been frustrated at how hard it is for me to keep the camera steady.

What I don't care about: Video, Mic, Bluetooth --- I just want photos.

So I am left with a choice between a latest-model entry-level camera (OMD EM10 IV) or a mid-range camera of from 5 years ago (G85). I quite like the DSLR-style of the G85; it's a nice look and a better grip. I like the G85's fully articulated LCD screen. In the G85 the dials look less crammed and it even has one more dial than the EM10 IV. Conversely, I see that the EM10 IV weighs less (383 g vs 505 g) and has a 20 MP sensor (vs 16 MP for G85) though I'm not sure what I can do with 20MP that I can't get with 16MP. The EM10 IV is also $100+ cheaper.