olympus dial issue--really a issue or not?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by oly.sol, Nov 29, 2015.

1. oly.sol

oly.sol Mu-43 Regular

Nov 14, 2015
    Cambridge, MA
    so i'm new to olympus and am loving the cameras and lenses. yesterday i came across some threads about the purported dial issues. based solely on forum reports, you'd think all olympus cameras have a serious problem w/ the dial failing to register with the bodies, i.e. the body doesn't respond properly when the user turns the front or rear dial. but i'm guessing people who have encountered this problem are more likely to post about it than folks who haven't had any dial issues.

so i'm wondering what you take it...how widespread do you think this is? so far, i've not had any issues.
  2. budeny

budeny Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 4, 2014
    Boulder, CO
  3. Growltiger

Growltiger Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2014
    Of course some people have had it - several in the early days of the E-M1.
    Many people, like me, have not had it, and would not normally even bother to look at a thread with that title.
    So trying to ask here will tell you nothing statistically.
    People who had it, have also had it fixed.
    Don't worry about it. All devices have problems.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. oly.sol

oly.sol Mu-43 Regular

Nov 14, 2015
    Cambridge, MA
    I wish I'd not clicked on the thread. Lesson learned. I think I'm going to get an extended warranty and try to forget about it.
  5. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

You could buy used, chances are the problem would have shown up already. I bought a used one with about 10,000 in the shutter count from somebody who had two and was selling to fund the 7-14 f/2.8. No problems whatsoever.
  6. NoTan2

NoTan2 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 16, 2014
    Newcastle NSW Australia