OlymPus ... And For Their Next Trick ....

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by nueces snapper, May 4, 2012.

1. nueces snapper

nueces snapper Mu-43 All-Pro

What?

I'm relatively new to m4/3. I didn't go through any of the iterations. I just jumped to the EP3 and started there. Once I have my EM5 I will be set for a couple years. Maybe more.

Sans Mirror has a thought provoking article up entitled "Iteration"

Iteration | Sans Mirror — mirrorless, interchangeable lens cameras | Thom Hogan

I have wondered about this situation myself. Several iterations of cameras in a very short time. It certainly can be a drain on the wallet. And now with Oly's latest it kinda puts all that came before in the dust. For me anyway.

I may not sell my EP3. Its a very good camera and makes a good second body.

So what is Olympus to do in order to get me and others to open our wallets now?

Onliest thing I can think of is prime lenses. Now that I have what is for me the perfect camera. Kindasorta. I want the lenses to go with it. I don't want to put Pany lenses on it. I'm weird that way. But I am willing to spend serious bucks for primes. Especially telephoto. I know I know, that is problematic and has been discussed here a LOT. Anyway ... hope you are thinking about this Oly. :smile:

2. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    No one's forcing you to buy every new model that comes along. If there's a drain on your wallet, it's from your choices, not the manufacturers. If Oly introduces an EM-6 next year, your E-M5 will still take pictures just as well as it does now. There's generally little benefit to each new model of camera, compared to the model before. Wait 2 or 3 generations to upgrade and your wallet will be much thicker, and the impact on your photography [potentially] greater.