1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Olympus 60mm F2.8 Depth of Field Tips for Macro Photography?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Cornelius, May 19, 2014.

1. Cornelius

Cornelius Mu-43 Regular

Sep 9, 2013
    I'm pretty new to what I call hardcore macro. When I try to go really close-up with this lens like 1:1 or lower at .19 - .4, I find the D.O.F impossibly shallow to work with. There's like a sliver of an area that is in focus. Stopping down doesn't seem to help either.

Does anyone have any tips on working with a shallow D.O.F. when shooting with this lens and with Macro photography in general? Thanks!

2. leendertv

leendertv Mu-43 Regular

Nov 22, 2011
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Leendert
    Yes, DOF is very thin!
    I usually use F16 for small insects (spiders, flys...)

focus stacking is a technique for this "problem". but I've never tried.

3. Cornelius

Cornelius Mu-43 Regular

Sep 9, 2013
    Wow, you have to stop down to F16!? I have to admit, I've never tried going down that far. My changes showed little if any discernible differences. Now I know. That's tripod territory or very high ISO...

Sent from my iPad using Mu-43

4. Harvey Melvin Richards

Harvey Melvin Richards Photo Posting Junkie

Feb 15, 2014
    Southwest Utah
    From what I've read, and from exif data I have viewed, a lot of macro photogs use a flash. This will let you use a very small aperture, but also allow you to shoot handheld. I am going to attempt it one of these days, but I'm not much of a flash person.

5. synthetictone

synthetictone Mu-43 Regular

May 22, 2013
    Atlanta, GA
    Dean