Olympus 45mm for Disneyland

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by WayneG, Sep 6, 2012.

1. WayneG

WayneG New to Mu-43

Sep 6, 2012
    Hello, everyone. I'm looking for opinions on whether or not the Olympus 45mm would be a worthwhile lens to take with us on our trip Disneyland (in 2 days).
    I've done a fair amount of reading and understand that it's considered a good/great lens for the price.

I also know that it depends on what I intend to shoot, but I'm still learning so I can't say for sure what I intend to shoot.

Currently my bag is made up of the E-PL3, 14-42 kit lens and 40-150. I'm looking to all of you to offer advice as to whether or not I should grab it locally and take it with me, or hold off until I find that I "need" it.

Thanks in advance.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. jonh918

jonh918 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 13, 2012
    San francisco,ca
    20mm f1.7

since you have a kit zoom & 40-150..i would suggest panasonic 20mm f1.7 it's a great len IQ wise alittle slow on AF but i think it's worth it
  3. dornblaser

dornblaser Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 13, 2012
    David Dornblaser
    The 45 would be a nice lens to take portrait pictures of your family while at the park.
  4. yekimrd

yekimrd Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 14, 2012
    Cincinnati, OH
    I would get both or lean more towards the 20/1.7. The 20/1.7 will be better suited for enviromental (e.g. with the castle in the backdrop) and group portraits, not to mention night shots of the buildings and fireworks. You may find the 45/1.8 to be hard to use especially in tight situations. But if you want to take half body shots of your kids or family, the 45/1.8 is an excellent performer.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. WayneG

WayneG New to Mu-43

Sep 6, 2012
    The 20 is also something I've been considering. However, I haven't found one local. Thanks for the feedback.
  6. mf100

mf100 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 26, 2012
    Sawbridgeworth, England