1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Oly 45mm f1.8 on E-PL2: how fast?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by With_Eyes_Unclouded, Apr 25, 2012.

1. With_Eyes_Unclouded

With_Eyes_Unclouded Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 17, 2012
    Vassilios
    Since most probably this will be the next lens I get for my E-PL2, I'd like your opinion on how the AF fairs on this body.

I've seen videos on youtube where the 45mm was very fast on the E-P3 and new bodies in general, but much slower on something like the E-P2. I understand it's optimized for the newer cameras. Nevertheless, is a firmware update the solution? (my E-PL2 has the latest firmware installed already).

2. Bhupinder2002

Bhupinder2002 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Hi
    I have been using this lens on my EPL2 for the last 6 months and I can tell u it's quite fast actually . I have had EPL3 for a while there isn't much of difference .
    Cheers
    Bhupinder

3. With_Eyes_Unclouded

Apr 17, 2012
    Vassilios
    Thanks mate! :smile:

• Like Like x 1
  4. dylandingo

dylandingo Mu-43 Regular

Nov 12, 2011
    La Crosse, WI
    What other lenses do you have to compare it to? I have both the Oly 45mm 1.8 and the Panasonic 20mm 1.7 on a E-P2 and the Oly 45mm is quite speedy compared to my 20mm.

5. With_Eyes_Unclouded

Apr 17, 2012
    Vassilios
    Since I only use the E-PL2 with the kit lens (14-42) and adapted OM lenses, I can't compare with other primes. I'd certainly like it to be quicker than the kit lens for sure.

6. dylandingo

dylandingo Mu-43 Regular

Nov 12, 2011
    La Crosse, WI