Oly 45 - Ready Mix Cement facility

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by mh2000, Aug 26, 2013.

1. mh2000

mh2000 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 3, 2010
    Photos from a local Ready-Mix concrete facility. All but last 6 taken with Oly 45/1.8. Last 6 with Sigma 30.

Ready Mix | Mark Hahn Photography

Let me know what you think of the set!

Thanks!

2. phoenixag

phoenixag Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 1, 2013
    London
    I am not a professional, but I find the photos too dull. Maybe its because its a concrete mixing facility, but nothing really pops out to the eye.

One a separate note, I am surprised to see that I prefer the colours of the Sigma 30 much better than the Oly 45. The sky detail and colour seems very washed out in the pictures with the 45.

3. mh2000

mh2000 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 3, 2010
    Thanks for the comments phoenixag! These are cloudy twilight shots and the light was changing and going to darkness very fast. The Sigma 30 is a good lens, not as good as the 45, but very good. I think you are responding to the difference in lighting. The colors are also swamped by the bluish twilight and the low contrast is from almost completely ambient lighting. I was kind of going for this look, but can see that it might not work for everyone... was still fun shooting!

:)

I'll probably go back during the day and do some more shooting, then the photos should have much more "pop!"

4. mh2000

mh2000 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 3, 2010
    phoenixag, have given your comments further thought. Interesting really, since conceptually I was after the look that I achieved, but part of me found it hard to leave them kind of dull. As a photographer, it is easy to be torn between our idea of what makes a "good photo" and how we can work in areas that stray from this. Not that it invalidates your oppinion, but after a few more comments came in, I got these as well:

"The scenes are desolate but the colours are dreamy soft. I like that. That contrast."

and,