Oly 17mm vs pan 20mm

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by cmk325i, Sep 21, 2011.

1. cmk325i

cmk325i Mu-43 Regular

Sep 19, 2011
    So I have a 150 bucks amazon gift card looking to pick up my first prime . I have been thinking about the lumix 20mm but people say it slow. So I began to look at what Oly offers they have the 17mm . So the question is what one do you guys recommend . Its going on my ep3

2. UnivTex34

UnivTex34 Mu-43 Regular

May 11, 2011
    20 without even thinking twice about it....

TowerHDR.

3. cmk325i

cmk325i Mu-43 Regular

Sep 19, 2011
    So that's one for the 20mm I'm sure that's what most people will say but I'm new to this 4/3 community . I came from shooting an entry level dslr with the nifty 50 setup

4. krugorg

krugorg Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 18, 2011
    Minnesota USA
    20mm f1.7 :2thumbs:

I said it before in another thread or two, but the only time I notice slow focusing on the 20mm is when I am chasing small kids around. Otherwise, it is an amazing, all-purpose lens.

5. DHart

DHart Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 7, 2010
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    Don
    The 20 has great IQ and a faster aperture. Its downside is slower focusing and noisy operation.

The 17 has faster focusing and is quieter. It's downside is lesser IQ and slower aperture.

Angle of view is not significantly different between the two, but possibly enough one way or the other to be a minor factor for the type of shooting that you do.

What qualities are more important to you?

6. cmk325i

cmk325i Mu-43 Regular

Sep 19, 2011
    I'm a fan on dof and quality .....

7. MrKal_El

MrKal_El Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 24, 2011
  8. DHart

DHart Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 7, 2010
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    Don
    You know your answer now, don't you! :wink: Go forth and enjoy.

9. krugorg

Jul 18, 2011
    Minnesota USA