1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Oly 12-40mm front heavy?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by bwidjaja, Jan 13, 2015.

1. bwidjaja

bwidjaja Mu-43 Regular

May 30, 2012
    Hi Everyone, I am fairly new to Oly EM1 and 12-40mm.
    I like almost every aspect of the lens and the image quality.
    However, it is just so annoying that I cannot find the right balance while holding the camera one handed or when on a shoulder strap.
    The lens just seems to be front heavy.
    12-40mm is not that much bigger than the 75mm, but i find it unpleasant ergonomics wise.

Any tips or suggestions?

2. Rolle

Rolle Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 12, 2013
    If you use the optional grip the the balace will be better. In addition you also get a better grip.

3. Photophil

Photophil Mu-43 Regular

Nov 24, 2012
    Atlanta Georgia area
    Not noticed that.

I have not noticed the 12-40 being particularly front heavy, although it is a beefy lens. At f2.8, it is going to have some heavy glass near the front of the lens. You might try the vertical grip or a bottom plate which would provide more surface to hold on to. The E-M1 and 12-40 is much easier to hold than my E-PL5 using anything other than the kit lens.

4. Carbonman

Carbonman Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 10, 2014
    Vancouver BC
    Graham
    I use the same grip that I had to use with manual focus lenses - rest the body of the lens on the left hand's metacarpal/index finger joint and cradle the lens between your index finger and thumb. The heel of your hand at the base of your thumb supports the left side of the camera body and your right hand steers and works the controls. Press your left upper arm against your ribs with your left foot forward and you have a stable shooting position. If you have to resort to manual focus, you're already in position. With short lenses I end up cradling more of the camera body in my palm but keep the hand engaged with the lens in the same way.

• Like Like x 1
  5. budeny