Olly 45mm or 40-150mm R??

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Alireza, Nov 12, 2012.

1. Alireza

Alireza New to Mu-43

Nov 5, 2012
    Toronto, Ontario
    Alireza Hosseini
    Hi folks,
    A few month a go I bought an E-PM1 with the kit lens and now want to improve it with a second lens as a portrait lens.
    I've two options:
    1. Olympus 45mm 1.8 for $399
    2. Olympus 40-150mm for $179
    To be honest I don't no wich one will work for me. In fact I've heard that 45mm is a magic lens for portrait, But the difference is $220 and I don't know if I really need 1.8 and should go for 45mm (since I'm not a professional photographer) or 40-150mm would give me an acceptable result at 40mm and I should get that one, save money and spend it on something else (like a flash or...etc).
    At the end I need to mention I don't need a telephoto lens and I'm considering 40-150 as a 40mm lens (I feel at 40 it's much better than the kit lens. Isn't it?)
    I'll appreciate if you guys kindly give me some advise.
  2. Geoff3DMN

Geoff3DMN Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 29, 2012
    Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
    I have both the 45mm and the 40-150mm. I love the look of photos taken with the 45mm but I find myself using the 40-150mm more and to be honest I was surprised by how sharp it was.

However the 40-150mm and EPM-1 combo suffers from that known double image issue at certain shutter speeds and focal lengths which is annoying.

The EM-5 doesn't but your EPM-1 may (I gather not all of them do it).
  3. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    The 40-150 is a kit lens too and like all zooms including the 14-42 it's sharper at the short end than the long end.