1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

off camera flash question

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by shootingprof, Mar 11, 2014.

1. shootingprof

shootingprof New to Mu-43

Mar 11, 2014
    Hi all
    I am very new to u4/3 system and EVF and am coming from FF slr. I like to shoot macro and with FF optical view finder of course I see the world at the fastest aperture for the lens I am using since we are using OVF. With FF slr I would typically set up the off camera flash with pocketwiz triggers with a setting of F22 1/250. Of course that would give me a black image if flash was turned off. however, focusing was easy since I am using OVF. However with EVF, the beauty of this system is I see the exposure live. So with my setup with omd em1 and using Pocketwizard for triggers, I set the aperture at say F11 and 250 to eliminate any dragging the shutter and blur, BUT the obvious is that I can't see anything to focus. So I temporarily open up the aperture to say 2.8 (using Olympus 60mm macro) to get focus then stop down. Now this seems like a real pain in the butt. Am I missing something with the u4/3 system with respect to how macro shooters go about their workflow when using off camera flash? For all the fantastic things that my Olympus does, this seems like a problem.

any suggestions would certainly be helpful.

2. Cruzan80

Cruzan80 Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    Denver, Co
    Sean Rastsmith
    There is a setting which keeps the image neutral exposure regardless of the settings chosen. Not sure exactly what it is called on the EM1, but that is the solution to your problem. It will allow you to stop down, and rely on the flash to fill in the light, but the viewfinder may be grainy as a result of lightening the exposure so much.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Ccasey

Ccasey Mu-43 Regular

Jul 29, 2011
    Austin, TX
    Chris
    Live View Boost in the Display menu is what Cruzan is talking about.

• Like Like x 1
  4. shootingprof