1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

ODD focusing problem with EM5

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by JAGimaging, Jul 5, 2014.

1. JAGimaging

JAGimaging New to Mu-43

Jul 1, 2014
    Hello! I am a professional automotive photog and for the last little while I switched over to using a EM5 to cover the smaller events I cover to put less wear and tear on my Nikon DSLR's. For the most part the EM5 has been great but every now and then I have a problem with its focusing. I use the kit lens, pans 25 and oly 40-150 and I know that there are limitations to the lens but the issue Im having is I get shots that are completely out of focus. The camera focuses ( or tries to ) I get the beep but the shot is super blurry as if it focused on nothing but other times it can focus super well even on fast moving race cars.

Some examples: Here the subjects are not even moving.. It happens with AFC and AFS modes.

[​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

And other times the focus is great.Even for action.

[URL=http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Photo_X/media/JAG51686_zps2fcd4bf0.jpg.html]
    [ATTACH=full]371868[/ATTACH][/URL]
    JAG24251_zps4060f0ae.
    JAG26150_zpsb1cc972d.

So has any body had this issue or does it just have to do with settings?

Thanks!

2. barry13

barry13 Super Moderator; Photon Wrangler

Mar 7, 2014
    Southern California
    Barry
    Hi, which focus points are you using?

Barry

Sent from my iPad using Mu-43

3. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo
    What is the lens, focal length and shutter speed for the first one? Nothing is in focus in that one and in the third too. Look more like motion blur (or shutter shock?).
    I do not expect a very low speed but...

If you still have the images on the memory card go back to review the photos: there is a "display mode", the small one with the histograms, from where you can see where the focus point was set.

Also check this: