Novice needs advice

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by igork007, Oct 9, 2012.

1. igork007

igork007 New to Mu-43

Oct 9, 2012
    Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum and I'm a total novice so please don't flame me for not knowing nearly as much about photography. I greatly respect the skills of good photographers but it's just not something that I have wanted to get into seriously. So why am I posting here? The reason is I need a new camera to replace a circa 2005 Canon P/S and I'd like some advice. The camera I get will be used 100% in Auto mode. Maybe after owning it for a while I'll read some books and get into the more creative stuff but for now I need one with really good Auto Everything mode. I've been doing a lot of reading and have become familiar with the various brands and models of camera's available but 99% of the discussions are between those who are knowledgeable in photography. Does anyone use the iAuto mode on OMD-EM5? Does it make good pictures? I will be shooting 95% family indoors and out. My wife has requested a camera that does really well in low light. Cost and size are not a huge factor but I definitely don't want something as big as a Nikon 7000 or as costly as a Leica M9. I've narrowed down my search to the OMD-EM5, Fuji XE1 (when it comes out) or just a basic Sony RX100. I'm leaning towards the OMD because almost every single thing I've read about it has been positive. Is it a total waste of a good camera to use it in iAuto mode and should I just get the Sony or will this be a worthwhile investment? Finally, I will be shooting some video. Not for anything serious, just for family memories.

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.
  2. Papadoc

Papadoc Mu-43 Regular

Jul 12, 2012