1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Noob questions about Oly 17mm f2.8 prime

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by ANRiley, Dec 19, 2012.

1. ANRiley

ANRiley New to Mu-43

Dec 18, 2012
    near Chicago
    Hi all -- yes, I'm a noob to the world of interchangeable lenses, so please be kind. I bought my lil refurbished ELP-1 a couple of months ago to help me learn how to take good photos for my work (I work for a nonprofit and we never have decent photos for our newsletter).

Anyway. Enough about me; let's talk about you. What it is that you like about the Olympus 17mm f2.8, besides how small and unobtrusive it is? In what situations would you choose to use it over the 14-42 IIR zoom? And why?

Thanks for all your help! You're helping a noob become less so.
    A.

2. Ulfric M Douglas

Ulfric M Douglas Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 6, 2010
    Northumberland
    :rofl: All the time!
    On my e-P1 it actually fits in my pockets ... some of them.
    It takes beautiful photos.
    I don't have to twist it to start it.
    It looks fine.
    It focuses reliably on the person or tree infront of me.
    It produces nice results even straight into sunlight.
    It has a decent aperture and is sharp enough wide-open.

See? ;

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 2
  3. ANRiley

ANRiley New to Mu-43

Dec 18, 2012
    near Chicago
    Pretty! Thank you!!

4. RogerAdams

RogerAdams Mu-43 Regular

Oct 19, 2012
    Hi ANRiley,

I've been using the 17mm f2.8 almost exclusively for the last 5 months. The size just made my EPL-1 more compact. Also as Ulfric said, I really hated to unlock the kit lens to use it. I had been using the kit lens for almost two years and was just bored with it.

The 35mm equivalent makes capturing large groups easy but that's something you can already do with the kit lens. I've heard good things about the 14-42 IIR. I have the original 14-42 and I found it slow to focus.