1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Noob OM-D Auto ISO noisy

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by ryanlogic, Jun 25, 2012.

1. ryanlogic

ryanlogic Mu-43 Veteran

May 23, 2012
    Antakya, Turkey
    I'm still learning about my camera, and I know I should be setting my Aperture, ISO, and shutter speed on my own... but in between learning sessions, I still want to take good shots. when I am not fiddling with manual mode, I've been shooting mostly on manual aperture mode(A). From what I can see, the camera comes with an auto ISO range between 200 and 1600. its been raining a lot and not very sunny out at all so Ive been taking a lot of shots in the evening, and indoors with poor lighting. I read somewhere that the ISO range can be increased to about 200-3200 and still produce acceptable images. I've found that most of the images I am taking are pretty grainy/noisy, and bumped it back down to 1600 max ISO.

I also programed one of the directional keys to go into the ISO menu, and Ive been playing around with lower ISO settings and slower shutter speeds with some success....but then its hard to shoot handheld. Ive yet to take the camera outside on a sunny day, and I cant wait to, but i have a feeling that I should invest in a faster lens ASAP, because I like shooting indoors and I cant always control the lighting to get the best shots.

Im just posting this to see if my thought loop is correct, and to ensure that I am not missing anything obvious.

any advice would be awesome

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/81125347@N08/7443998960/" title="P6250393 by ryanjamesfahey, on Flickr"> 7443998960_06b334e04f_b. "768" height="1024" alt="P6250393"></a>

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/81125347@N08/7444001642/" title="P6250365 by ryanjamesfahey, on Flickr"> 7444001642_25af916a64_b. "768" height="1024" alt="P6250365"></a>

2. D@ne

D@ne Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 23, 2012
    Toronto
    The pictures you posted look great!