Noob here - what flash to get

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by twoskytrains, May 13, 2017.

1. twoskytrains

twoskytrains Mu-43 Rookie

May 13, 2017
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Kristy
    I have an Olympus EP-3 and I have not long been shooting but I do like to help out my friends by taking pictures at their parties and am wondering about getting a flash. Nothing too fancy, preferably one that can attach to the camera as I don't really want to be too hardcore with separate lighting. I was recently in a wedding party where the photographer had one that flashed straight up/all around attached to her Canon. She used it indoors during the day and evening and I liked the results. Is there some like of equivalent for m43 (sorry I don't even know the model number of hers)? I also don't really know much about flashes, do they sync with the camera body or do you need to operate them in addition to the shutter?

2. oldracer

oldracer Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Oct 1, 2010
    USA
  3. ionian

ionian Mu-43 Top Veteran Subscribing Member

May 20, 2016
    Kent, UK
    Simon
    As per @oldracer@oldracer 's link, you have a bit of reading to do before you buy something - only because it's not as simple as putting a flash on your camera and getting perfect light. It's not as complicated as it may seem though, so don't panic!

I'd guess you want to learn how to bounce flash, so read about that and then get yourself either a Meike 320 or a godox tt350o. Neither is expensive and both have great functionality for the price.

But don't expect them to do it all for you - light is more complicated than that!

• Like Like x 1
  4. skellington

skellington Mu-43 Veteran Subscribing Member

Mar 4, 2013
    Atlanta, GA
    Keith
    Most flashes tilt up and she may have put some kind of diffuser on it (magmod, Gary Fong, etc. etc.). This only works well if you have a mostly white ceiling of a suitable height. :)