1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Noisy Video from EM5... Any thoughts?

Discussion in 'Video to Share' started by BarefootPilgrim, Sep 25, 2016.

1. BarefootPilgrim

BarefootPilgrim Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 23, 2009
    Westchester, IL
    Bob
    I'm new to shooting / editing video, so please forgive what may be a stupid question....

I'm getting a lot of video noise when I shoot with my EM5, and am wondering if that's normal for the camera or if there's something else going on. It's most noticeable after editing, but it's definitely there in the .MOV files that come straight from the camera. I've attached a sample where you'll find it especially noticeable in the trees at upper right. But it's really everywhere in the shoot. It's even worse in this sample, since YouTube has mangled the file in the transcoding, but if you'd like to view the direct camera output, there's a link to a copy on my GoogleDrive, here.... Noisy Video - 2016_0924_A9249447_EM5 copy-25sec.mov

Thanks for any help / thoughts / suggestions. Oh... the EM5 is set to record NTSC and Movie Quality = Full HD F. And here's the sample on YouTube....

2. barry13

barry13 Super Moderator; Photon Wrangler

Mar 7, 2014
    Southern California
    Barry
    Hi, what ISO was used?

On my iPad, I can't tell how much of it is encoding artifacts vs noise.

• Like Like x 1
  3. BarefootPilgrim

Dec 23, 2009
    Westchester, IL
    Bob
    Thanks for looking, Barry. ISO was 400. I wondered about encoding artifacts, too. But the file directly out of camera has the same stuff. And I wouldn't expect a video at ISO 400 to have that much noise. My stills from the same camera don't show that much noise even at ISO 1200.

4. Nathanael

Nathanael Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 12, 2015