No Video on SD Card

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by RKTodd, Apr 14, 2013.

1. RKTodd

RKTodd Mu-43 Regular

Dec 6, 2012
    Indiana
    I have a puzzling situation on my GH3. All of a sudden, my video clips are not showing up when I place the card in a reader for downloading. I can play the clips on the camera, but Mac Finder shows nothing on the card to download. I can't imaging what I might have changed that would cause this...any ideas?

My RAW files DO show up and I can download them just fine. It's just the clips.

Thanks - Randy

2. RKTodd

RKTodd Mu-43 Regular

Dec 6, 2012
    Indiana
    So, I changed the format to .mov, and then to mp4 and both of those clip types show up on my computer. I just can't read the AVCHD files. Anyone know why this is?
    Obviously I'm new to video :)

3. ~tc~

~tc~ Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Oct 22, 2010
    Houston, TX
    AVCHD uses differ directories.

If you had a real computer it would find them :)

But seriously, you need software that reads AVCHD (like Premier or Premier Elements), and then they download no problem.

4. mirrorless

mirrorless Mu-43 Regular

Feb 16, 2013
    A .MOV file will be in one of the DCIM folders with your Raw and JPEG files, and the AVCHD will be in the "private" folder.

Also, the newer All-Intra format is easier for your computer to edit, and the results are the best in quality.

5. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

AVCHD is a higher end video codec and requires software for it. What version of OSX? I think the newest version can handle AVCHD files but older ones can't unless you have added software. I can see it on my Mac because I have Final Cut and it can read AVCHD. You may have to get some sort of converter software that can read AVCHD.

6. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    Vlc plays it just fine.

7. M4/3

M4/3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 24, 2011