No tethering option on the E-M1?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by JamieW, Dec 5, 2013.

1. JamieW

JamieW Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 25, 2013
    I finally got around today to trying to use the camera for one of the primary purposes I bought it for, to use in the new studio I'm setting up. It doesn't appear you can tether the E-M1 to Lightroom in either WIFI or USB mode, as both modes disable control of the camera as soon as you enable them. I've been shooting tethered since 2005. It didn't even occur to me it was possible to buy a camera that can't do this, at least over USB. I ran into the problem of it not working over WIFI a couple of weeks back, but just made the assumption I'd have to use USB instead. Now I'm kinda dumbfounded by this.

Can this really be the case on the E-M1, or am I just doing something wrong? I've been through the manual and hit the search feature on this site, but I'm not seeing a solution to this rather huge oversight on an otherwise excellent camera.

2. marcr1230

marcr1230 Mu-43 Regular

Nov 28, 2013
    There is an olympus app that does this already so technically the camera supports the possibility
    Either it's not an open API or Lightroom has to figure out how to use it and add it.
    If it is a proprietary API - it still can be used to shoot tethered, someone just needs to hack it a little

3. JamieW

JamieW Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 25, 2013
    Sorry, I probably wasn't clear. I don't want to control the camera from the computer. I want to control the camera from the camera as if I weren't tethered, and send the files to the computer as I shoot in a background process.

The problem is, when you connect to the camera via USB or via WIFI, you lose all control of the camera (from the camera itself). The screen goes black.