No Olympus offerings between 17 and 45?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by TetonTom, Apr 24, 2013.

1. TetonTom

TetonTom Mu-43 Regular

I'm new to m43, and unless I'm missing something, find it kinda hard to believe Oly doesn't have a normal prime in it's line-up.
    Or am I missing something? I see a 17 and a 45, but it looks like you need to look at other brands to get a prime between those numbers.
    Or is there maybe something in the works? Seems like Oly could give us something as good as the competition...

2. brettmaxwell

brettmaxwell Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 8, 2012
    It is a notable gap, but they probably figure the 25/1.4 would be tough to compete with, so why bother. Doesn't bother me, I have the 17 and 45 and that's the perfect spacing for me.

3. mirrorless

mirrorless Mu-43 Regular

Feb 16, 2013
    Yes! There's the 25mm Panasonic Leica. And the lesser 20mm Panacake. What more would you need? :thumbup::2thumbs::thumbup:

4. Yohan Pamudji

Yohan Pamudji Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 21, 2012
    Mississippi, USA
    There's still room for say a 25mm f/1.8 pancake, although at Oly's prices I doubt it would be competitive with the reasonably priced Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 so maybe not.

5. dav1dz

dav1dz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    Canada
    Those who owns a 25 mm lens, or a 50 mm equivalent, often get a 24 mm equivalent as their wide because 35 mm equivalent isn't enough of a gap.

6. napilopez

napilopez Contributing Editor

Feb 21, 2012
    NYC Area
    Napier Lopez
    Well that's the thing though: why?