Nikon or Canon ....

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by jeffryscott, Oct 8, 2013.

1. jeffryscott

jeffryscott Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 2, 2010
    So, I've decided to go Nikon or Canon and give up my m43 kit for the time being.

I'm in need of faster C-AF for my kids swimming (and a fledgling business shooting other kids swimming for their parents, and possibly other sports if it works) and need more reliable AF and better long lens choices (i.e. less expensive than what the EM-1 and 45-150 2.8 will be).

Thinking Nikon d7000 (some really good deals out there) or Canon 7D. I've extensive experience with both Nikon and Canon systems, but have not ever used either of these cameras. I know the 7D would be suitable (from former coworkers), but am leaning toward the Nikon if AF would be on par with the 7D.

Anybody here with experience with the D7000?

2. Geoff3DMN

Geoff3DMN Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 29, 2012
    Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
    I have a Nikon D7000 (as well as my micro 43rds gear), my D7000 has good AF but the buffer is a limiting factor and nikon professional lenses are more expensive than Canon lenses (at least around here).

If I was starting from scratch I'd be leaning towards the 7D, I had existing lenses from an earlier Nikon body however.
  3. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Six of one. Half a dozen of the other. They're both mid range systems with mid range CAF (compared to say a 1 series or D4). The lenses you chose will have at least as much to do with CAF.