Night photography newbie needs advice (HS football stadium)

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by WendyK, Sep 27, 2014.

1. WendyK

WendyK Super Moderator

Feb 28, 2014
    Northern Virginia
    I will be shooting at my son's marching band competition tonight and at future home games (after dark, under the lights). I have very little experience with nighttime photography, as I had never had a camera or lenses good enough to produce decent photographs at night. Now I do, but I don't really know what settings to use. I haven't had the need to use a higher ISO much yet as I generally shoot outdoors in natural light. I have an Olympus E-M10 and I will most likely be using either the Oly 12-40 2.8 or the Sigma 60, depending on where we are seated. If I'm up high enough I probably will use the 12-40 to try to get some wide shots, at least at the beginning of the show. If I'm closer to the field I will just use the Sigma 60 or one of the other primes to get closer shots. I own the Oly 25 and 45 so could use one of those instead if the 1.8 would be a huge benefit, though if I want closeups the Sigma 60 might be a better choice. I am guessing my 40-150 isn't fast enough for this situation. I'd rather not change lenses during the 10 min. show.