1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Next m43 Lens: Olympus 7-14 Pro or 40-150 Pro?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by RobDMB, May 13, 2015.

1. RobDMB

RobDMB Mu-43 Regular

May 12, 2013
    I am relatively new to photography and recently obtained an Olympus Em5 Mark II with the Olympus 12-40mm Pro lens. I love the combo. I want to eventually acquire the three zoom lenses to cover the entire range as I find I shoot mostly with zoom given the convenience and the optical quality of the pro lenses. I am at the point where I plan to be purchasing another lens soon and am debating between the newly announced 7-14/2.8 Pro or the 40-150/2.8 Pro. I'm looking for suggestions as to which would be more useful as a second lens. Right now the 12-40mm is my only lens.

Generally, I shoot family shots around the house and outdoor/nature/architecture photos. Landscape, etc. Not too much of a street shooter in terms of capturing candidates of people.

Any suggestions or advice to help me decide would be appreciated. Thank you.

2. hazwing

hazwing Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 25, 2012
    Australia
    They're very different focal lengths. Which end do you feel more?

Do you need more reach? Get the 40-150.

If you want to get more creative, the 7-14 can give you more exaggerated foreground and a sense of distance.

Personally I'm keen to get a wide angle lens... I like shooting wide on the 12-40 and want to try going wider. The cheap 40-150mm which can be had for $100-200, satisfies my occasional telephoto needs at this point.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo
    With 12mm you have already a quite wide lens. Yes, 7mm is a LOT wider, check here:

http://g3.img-dpreview.com/F68D803D317441D3BA4BF8621EB87EF0.jpg

I never had a lens this wide so I have no idea how does it feel. It should be ideal for landscapes, big subjects (monuments, churches, etc.) and to shoot in tight spaces.