Next lens suggestions?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by alder, May 23, 2016.

1. alder

alder Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 3, 2016
    About 6 months ago I got an Olympus OM-D E-M10 with the kit lens (Zuiko 14-42mm) and a zoom lens (Zuiko 40-150mm) that came as part of an Amazon bundle. Everything's been great, and I'm thinking about investing in a new lens.

I've been looking on the internet for suggestions and the consensus seems to be either "Depends on your shooting style," which is not particularly helpful--as a newbie, I can imagine using pretty much any lens. I wanted to ask here for your two cents, given the lenses I have and the kinds of situations where I take pictures:
    • hiking (landscapes and landscape portraits)
    • flowers/plants
    • city tourist photos (streets, buildings, markets)
    • whale-watching and wildlife
    • restaurants (esp. low-light)
    • sunsets
    Right now I usually carry both lenses for hiking or other extended trips where I'm carrying a backpack; for cities and day-to-day use, I just use the 14-42mm.
    I can imagine using a wide-angle lens for summits and broad landscapes, and wouldn't mind carrying one more lens if it's worth it. On the other hand, it would also be nice to have a lighter/smaller lens for cities/day-to-day use (instead of the 14-42mm) but I'm worried I'll miss the zoom too much. And right now I have relatively bad photos in low light, and I wouldn't mind improving those as well.

Any advice, including the advice to not buy a new lens right now, is more than welcome. Generic suggestions about what kind of lens I'd get the most out of (e.g., wide-angle vs. prime) and specific comments about certain lenses are all welcome. (But I am looking for mid-range or lower in terms of price.)

Below are a few of my OM-D photos (all unedited) that I like, so you can see the kinds of photos I like to take. All except the first were taken with the 14-42mm.

P4230892.JPG P4020539.JPG

Last edited: May 23, 2016