1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Newly born OM-D M-E5 Mark II searches for polygamic relationship with 2 or 3 lenses.

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by sellera, Jul 28, 2016.

1. sellera

sellera Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 26, 2016
    Santos, SP - Brazil
    Hello, mates!

I’m a 41 y/o Brazilian lawyer who has shot film for most of his life, first with an Olympus PEN, later with a Pentax ME SLR with a 50mm M 1.4 SMC lens, Japanese version. Transition to digital was delayed until I couldn’t find film to shot.

The logical step was to buy a DSLR. Since gear here is too expensive, I’ve saved enough for a brand new Nikon D5200, bought 3 years ago, with the 18-55 kit lens. I’ve also added a 35mm 1.8G and a 70-300 VR to my lenses, and since then, I’ve been switching between the 35 and the 70-300, in a 70%-30% ratio.

I love my setup – I’m no pro; photography for me is not a career, just a hobby that I like a lot. Until now, post-processing, if needed, was briefly made via LR, just to correct shadows, light and exposure. The APS-C on the D5200 is good enough for my shots, and I tend to print little to none of the final results. Don’t get me wrong – it was all going well until August 2015, when I fall in love with a little camera recently launched, the OM-D E-M10 II.

Since then, I’ve been reading a lot, both here and in DPreview, trying to learn the most about this new – at least for me – mirrorless technology. I’ve started to save again, this time to buy an E-M10 II, with the kit lens (14-42), the affordable 40-150 R zoom and the 17mm 1.8 prime. The more I read, the more I fall in love.

As I’ve stated before, gear in Brazil is too expensive and our Olympus branch, for unknown reasons, doesn’t sell photographical stuff here. So I decided to travel to US, spend a week having some fun in Florida, and return with a brand new E-M10 II! But life had other plans for me…