1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Newbie with EPM-1 with zoom kit lens ? Blurred pics!

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by steelerdan69, Oct 9, 2011.

1. steelerdan69

steelerdan69 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 23, 2011
    Okay so I'm totally new to this m4rds thing. Today at work we had "customer appreciation day" so we had a bunch f activities. We had a chicken dance and all of the pictures of people dancing were blurry. Why? What lens do I need? It was inside of a grocery store with fluorescent lights.
    Will try to post pics when I get off work. Thanks

2. DDBazooka

DDBazooka Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 3, 2011
    Your shutter speed was probably too slow, boost iso/use a smaller F stop.

3. steelerdan69

Aug 23, 2011
    I had it on auto mode. Still have to learn all this manual stuff. I really find it hard to learn this shutter,iso and f stop! So if had the panny 20mm f1.7 lens I would have gotten sharper pics? I have a long ways to go to learn to take good pictures. :)

4. supermaxv

supermaxv Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 20, 2011
    Not necessarily, no.

5. Armanius

Armanius Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 23, 2010
    Houston
    Muttley
    You need a fast shutter speed in order to capture people in motion, particularly if they are doing the chicken dance.

If the camera is in Auto, the fastest ISO that the camera utilizes is 1600. The kit lenses has a maximum aperture of F3.5 at 14mm. You were probably in a low light situation. So with the ISO of 1600 and maximum aperture of F3.5, you were probably getting shutter speeds way below 1/120 of a second. Likely in the 1/20's or lower. That's just way too slow to be able to "freeze" a subject in motion.

It's 2 a.m., so I'm falling asleep. I'll write more stuff after I wake up!

6. Canonista

Canonista Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 3, 2011
    L.A.
    I'll pick up where Armanius left off :smile: