Newbie wants a prime lens for portrait

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by oleoneday, Dec 19, 2012.

1. oleoneday

oleoneday Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 11, 2012
    I'm new to photography and have a gx1 with pana 14mm and 14-45mm. I'm not sure if it's my GAS that makes me want a portrait lens.

I'm interested in Oly 45 f1.8, but the problem is that it doesn't have IS built in. In low light condition, is this a big problem? Dear GX1 users, what lens do you use as portrait lens?

Two more questions: How big the aperture should be to get blurry background? How long the focal length is to avoid face distortion?
  2. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    IS is really over-emphasized in my opinion. Yes, it works and yes you can get slower shutter speeds with it. But, a lot of people seem to be falling into this impression that any longer lens is near-useless without it. I have never owned a body with IBIS, and I can say with confidence I have no issues using the 12mm, 25mm, 45mm, 60mm, 75mm and other non-stabilized prime lenses. I do however feel the OIS/IBIS plays a larger factor with long lenses like the 100-300mm or 14-140mm where they can help stabilize the viewfinder AND the shot.

Finally, bear in mind for portrait use being able to hand-hold at slower shutter speeds only help so much, unless your subject is conveniently standing really still :smile:
  3. dwig

dwig Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 26, 2010
    Key West FL
    One, it's not "distortion" but "unexpected perspective". Two, focal length has absolutely nothing to do with perspective in and of itself.

The perspective is control exclusively by the shooting distance. It's a matter of the relative distance between the lens and the various facial features (nose, eyes, ears, ...) which are each a somewhat different distance from the lens. In general, you will get the "proper and pleasing" perspective when you shoot at a distance of about 6-10' (2-3m).