1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Newbie question - E-PM1 sharpness in live view vs. final pic

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by decnet, Jun 13, 2013.

1. decnet

decnet Mu-43 Rookie

Jun 13, 2013
    Hello guys, my first post - I'm pretty new to the world of µ4/3 cameras, and actually to the world of (more serious) photography. I've purchased an E-PM1 and have been using it for some weeks with adapted legacy lenses exclusively - a Hexanon 50mm F1.7, a Vivitar 28mm F2.5, and one of those cheapo Fujian 35mm F1.7 CCTV lenses. So far, I love the results, the colors, the feeling of the tiny camera with that ridiculous amount of glass in front, and am over-applying shallow-depth-of-field effects on pretty much every photo, just as you would expect from a newcomer. However, whenever I try to take some more sharpness/detail-oriented picture, I am somewhat disappointed.

I guess it would be quite helpful to hear from some experienced people about this, since the problem is one of expectation: When I set the focus on my lens using the magnifying (x14) function, the live picture on screen looks A LOT sharper than applying magnification to the same area on the pic I actually take. This is particularly obvious when photographing text.

I've been playing around with the camera all afternoon and I get the same results using a tripod, holding it in my hand, using 2 seconds delay for the photo to get rid of all shutter shake, using IS on/off, noise reduction on/off, noise filter off/low/standard, taking under/overexposed pics, using ISO 200-800, using shutter times between 1/40s and 1/2000s, and so on. The picture detail always looks blurry compared to the preview, which is of course slightly frustrating - as if it was saying "this is what you could get from the lens, but the camera won't allow that to happen".