newbie om-d questions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by kponds, Mar 19, 2013.

1. kponds

kponds Mu-43 Regular

Mar 18, 2013

I'm an amateur shooting Canon crop DSLR and I've been longing for a smaller camera, was originally looking at the X100 or something to supplement my DSLR, but then I found the OM-D. And the more I look at it, the more I just want to replace everything with :43: gear. I don't shoot anything that requires focus tracking, Canon's crop gear is kind of stagnant, and I always need less weight/size.

So I rented the OM-D today, and the 25mm Panasonic/Leica, to give it a test drive. So far it's very successful.

One thing I noticed is that when the body is on, and I move it significantly (point it directly up or down), I get a clicking sound. I assume it's related to the image stabilization. Is this normal? Doesn't really bother me, just if there is something wrong with it, I want to disclose it to lensrentals asap.

Second do many of you guys use back-button focus? That is, pressing the fn1 button for focus, and shutter half press does AE lock. Mode 3 in the af button menu I think. I have always shot this way, but the om-d makes it ergonomically challenging. Just wondering what peoples thoughts are.

Third is there a way to get the EVF to show in black and white, but shoot RAW only? I want to visualize the shot in black and white, but shoot raw only so that I can hand process them. Whenever I change the art mode to black and white, it automatically switches to RAW+JPEG.

Lastly, spot metering. Does the spot jump around with the autofocus point? What about with face detection. Are there any gotchas for someone who shoots in manual mode with spot metering?

Not even going to ask the 20mm vs 25mm question for now...

Thanks! Maybe I will post some pics soon.
  2. Rudy

Rudy Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 24, 2013
    Oakland, CA
    The clicking sound is the aperture adjusting when you point it into or away from a light source.