Newbie: Olympus E-PL6

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Dayam, Jan 15, 2014.

1. Dayam

Dayam Mu-43 Regular

Jan 15, 2014
    Singapore
    Dave
    Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to this forum as well as to the photography world. After doing a lot of research with M43's, I ended up with the Olympus E-PL6.

Below are some of my questions:

I would like to know if there are any default settings I need to change? When taking pictures in my bedroom with a florescent light, I noticed that the skin tone on the camera is a bit on the Orange side.

The shop where I got my E-PL6 from also suggested that I get filters which would help a lot. Are these really needed?

Being a beginner, I find the lens pretty good. But if I was to change my lens if I wanted a faster one, what would any of you recommend? Something that an average shooter can probably use anywhere.

Thanks a lot!

2. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK
    a) Skin tone - make sure you turn off "keep warm color" (in the White Balance menu I think - Google it if you're unsure).

b) Skin tone - try shooting raw and fixing it later (you'll need a decent post processing application such as Lightroom).

c) Filters - don't start playing with filters until you know what to do with them. For me, I only ever use neutral density (ND) and circular polarisers (CPL) filters. Colour filters are a waste of time with a digital sensor shot in raw.

d) Lens - if you want a good low-light lens for general shooting, the best options will be either the Panasonic 20mm f1.7 or the Olympus 17mm f1.8

• Like Like x 1
  3. Dayam

Dayam Mu-43 Regular

Jan 15, 2014
    Singapore
    Dave
    I did check the option "keep warm color" under WB and set it to off. This fixed the problem!

Regarding the filters, the sales person I talked to suggested I get the UV filter as well as the ND and Polarizer. So I guess these filters are okay right?