Newbie here

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Mustangjoey, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Mustangjoey

Mustangjoey Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 22, 2011
    Hey guys, new to the forum and the micro 4/3 world. Just bought a G1 body brand new for 240. So I'm super excited to get into this different system here. I currently use a pentax kx and have a few different older manual focus lenses that are fun with that.

But anyways, just wanted to say hi and ask for any tips or advice for my new G1 body. From what I hear best all purpose lens is 14-45 panasonic. Kind of wish I would have bought the kit with the lens now. :mad: but any other tips/suggestions from you guys? Thanks

Joey

• Like Like x 1
  2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus

Joey, welcome and congrats on your G1!

The best place to ask for advice about your G1 is going to be in the Panasonic forum where the most G1 shooters are going to pick up on your questions. Take a virtual stroll over there and by all means start a new thread.

Very glad you've found your way here.:biggrin:

• Like Like x 2
  3. Mustangjoey

Mustangjoey Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 22, 2011
    Ok, posted my questions there. Thanks again!

• Like Like x 1
  4. pjohngren

pjohngren Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 15, 2010
    Welcome and great on getting a G1 for $240. I had to pay $365 for a G1 body on eBay, but have no regrets as I totally love this camera. I do have the 14-45 and it is a really nice lens and the one I use most on the G1. I see they are on Amazon for $322, which is less than I paid for mine. A useful book on the system is "David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1" I got it because I also have the GF1, but just about everything in there is applicable to the G1. The menues and essentially all the controls are just about the same on both cameras, so the book really applies to both cameras.