1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Newbie here from Ohio, trying to figure out what to buy

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by EnviroPhoto, May 9, 2014.

1. EnviroPhoto

EnviroPhoto New to Mu-43

May 9, 2014
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Hey all, I'm interested in getting a nicer camera and the micro four thirds system is really appealing to me. As you can see, my current point and shoot was a decent model in its day but is a bit out of date. I'm looking forward to learning many new things and conversing with folks who actually know what they're doing. I'm hoping to buy a new m43 camera in the next couple months, but I'm very much undecided on what to get.

Anyway, I don't know if it's a thing on this forum, but here are some random pics for clicks courtesy of the E900:

DSCF5655.

DSCF5588.

DSCF5578.

DSCF5769.

DSCF5807.

2. flamingfish

flamingfish Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 16, 2012
    Emily
    Nice photos!

Well, question one is probably your budget. Question two, which relates back to question one, is whether you are open to used/refurb equipment. Next we go to "how important is size to you?" Do you want to keep your camera as small as possible? Although m 4/3 gear is smaller and lighter than DSLR stuff, even the smallest cameras are larger than most point & shoots (but not much larger). Do you want physical controls (buttons and dials) or are you fine with minimal physical controls and picking most of your settings from a screen? Any m4/3 camera will give you the ability to go fully manual with your settings, but it's a question of how you go about changing those settings.