1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Newbie - decisions/decisions??

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by winrow3745, Jul 26, 2011.

1. winrow3745

winrow3745 Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 26, 2011
    Hello All,

I am new to buying a "proper" camera after having an Ixus 30 for many years and I am ashamed to say resorting to my HTC Desire camera phone for the past year.
    My situation is that I do a lot of walking and do travel about quite a bit on my motorbike and have recently become more and more frustrated with the ability of my phone to get decent shots, inc. colour reproduction (I have seen some amazing sun rises recently) and inability to zoom to any decent degree.
    Friends of mine swear by the 550D, so that is where I started my search. After thinking about the size of that model I came to the conclusion that I would end up back in the situation of not taking the camera out with me due to my laziness and not wanting the carry the thing around.
    This then led me to look at the G2 Lumix which seemed to fit my needs very well and even though its not very small, I hoped that it would be small enough for me to bother taking it out with me all the time.
    The problem is though that while handling the G2 my attention was very much drawn to the GF2, which looked even more what I originally thought about, size wise at least and looks to be the kind of thing that I would be able to chuck into the pockets of my walking trousers.
    I then started to read the reviews etc and found the PEN range and they seem to also fit the bill really well as well.
    So I am now in somewhat of a dilemma, the G2 has a view finder and I have really struggled out in sunlight when trying to take pictures on my phone, even to the point of just aiming the phone in the general direction and hoping for the best!
    How difficult is it to see screen on these modern day cameras in bright sun light?