1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New with questions

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by gardengirl13, Jun 26, 2012.

1. gardengirl13

gardengirl13 Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 26, 2012
    US
    I saw a link to this forum on POTN and thought I'd come over.

My health has been dictating most of my life the last bunch of years. I've been a hobby photographer since I took my first shot with an A1 when I was 5. I went digital in 2006, with a canon 30D, tried the 50D and hated it, now I have the 60D which I thought would stink, but I REALLY like it. In 2009 my health started getting worse and a few people on POTN recommended the micro 4/3 cameras. I hate to say it but I wasn't impressed at all. I sold all my nice glass and bought cheaper lenses in the hopes of trying to stick with photography without having to go down to a p&s. I had the G11 for a year and liked it, but the photos still looked to "point and shooty" to me. Last week I stumbled on again and saw some posts about the OMD. I can't believe how nice that camera looks! In just 3 short years! So now I'm trying to convince myself to buy it. Well not convince myself so much, as to try to FIND one, and see how it fits. I worry about the size and how my hands will handle it, my husband wants me to try it before buying, but no one anywhere has one, so it'd have to be buy then return if it doesn't fit right.

My problems/questions are

1- this will be my ONLY camera, meaning I can't afford to keep both systems would going "down" from a DSLR be too hard

2- I hate the current prices, I've even seen some used selling for $100+ more then new! Sure they're not in stock anywhere, and who knows how long a wait there is. But even the lenses are out of stock in a lot of places. I don't want to buy the lenses I want and not get the camera for 6 months.